about Oxidative stress

Forum for prokaryotic and eukaryotic culture, cell culture related assays (e.g. CTL, cytokine release, B cell culture), cell lines/primary culture, reagents, etc.

about Oxidative stress

Postby Rolo Beorn » Mar 23 2016 9:14 am

Hi,

I have spinocerebellar ataxia type7.
I take Protandim as nrf2-activator.
nrf2-activation reduces oxidative stress, it causes my muscles to be more flexible and I'm slowly gaining weight.
I was wondering if I'm gaining weight because of the reduce in oxidative stress.
What happens with cells that have oxidative stress when enzymes like catalase, superoxide dismutase or glutathione are not present?

English is not my native language and I'm not a scientist....
I hope I made myself clear :)
Rolo Beorn
technophile
technophile

Re: about Oxidative stress

Postby relaxin » Mar 28 2016 11:19 am

There is a relationship between oxidative stress and aging, but I do not know if there is a relationship between oxidative stress and weight gaining. Weight gaining may be due to increase of muscle mass. Muscle mass can be increased with exercise, which may cause oxidative stress.

There are many enzymes involved in Nrf-activation, one of them will be heme oxygenase-1.
Retired academic researcher. Mention of a specific product does not imply my endorsement of the product. No conflict of interest or guarantee to work on the advice given. Do as I say, not as I do. Not liable to the loss of your valuable samples.
relaxin
PI of Posters
PI of Posters

Postby Rolo Beorn » Jun 04 2016 11:29 am

I'm having some pretty significant improvements since I take Protandim
I now take 2 pills each day.
It seems that I have less energy on some level.
I want to have a better understanding in how oxidative stress works.

-When a cell is under severe oxidative stress, is there another system that tries to heal the cell?
If there are not sufficient enzymes...