Advice needed on genomics project

Use this category for questions directly related to DNA and RNA sequencing

Moderators: r.rosati, mchlbrmn, mdfenko

Advice needed on genomics project

Postby torch5633 » Dec 05 2016 10:46 am

Dear friends,
I am seeking your opinions on the feasibility of accomplishing the following project within a strict 12-week timeframe.
The challenge is that I have no previous experience to conduct genome assembly and analysis, and even though I have spent numerous hours researching the subject and also personally attended a 4-day workshop at the National Institute of Health (FAES, Trac 45), these efforts have not provided me with enough clues to accomplish the task.

Any comments on how difficult it would be to complete the project within the given time frame would be greatly appreciated. Is it reasonable to expect someone without previous experience or related training in these approaches and tools to accomplish this task within 12 weeks?

Thank you very much.

Assemble, annotate and determine markers and phylogenetic relationships of two R. solani mitochondrial genomes with related fungi and reported R. solani mitochondrial genomes with the following expectations:

A. Prepare a Circular map of two Rhizoctonia solani mitochondrial (mt) genomes (from paired reads of ~26,000,000KB in total size) showing the genes, their position, and on which strand they belong.
B. Find genes with gene names, Open Reading Frames (amino acids sequences), transposons, and introns, etc.
C. Present your results in Figures and Tables.
D. Compare two given mt genomes at the nucleotide level and find selected AG-specific SNPs or INDELs that can be used for rapid diagnostics.
E. Determine the phylogenetic relationships of two mitochondrial genomes with related fungi and reported R. solani mitochondrial genomes.

Re: Advice needed on genomics project

Postby sherke » Dec 13 2016 10:15 am